The Names
The Names

Stranger Than You [FBN 119] | The Names

Stranger Than You is the fourth studio album by acclaimed Belgian new wave group The Names.

Recorded in 2014, Stranger Than You marks a conscious return to the sounds and styles explored on their debut album Swimming in 1982. "There's a strong element of reconnection," explains singer/songwriter (and bassist) Michel Sordinia. "Yet at the same time it's also about developing your own legitimate strangeness, just as the great Surrealist poet Rene Char invited his readers to do. A new mystery singing in your bones."

Michel and guitarist Marc Deprez are joined by new members Laurent Loddewyckx (drums) and Christophe Boulenger (keyboards and piano). Stand-out tracks include the dynamic title track, Kids On Fire and quickfire Boy With A Gun, as well as more contemplative, elegiac numbers such as Lights and My Angel of Death.

The cover art is an original painting by long term Names associate Benoît Hennebert, celebrated for his work as design director for Les Disques du Crépuscule, with portrait photography by Peter Staessens. The double vinyl edition is housed in a deluxe gatefold sleeve and includes a free digital download.

Tracklist (CD + 2xLP):

1. Stranger Than You
2. Nowhereians
3. Lights
4. Life Again
5. My Angel of Death
6. Kids On Fire
7. What She Knows About the Night
8. Hands Off Love
9. Boy With A Gun
10. Fear
11. Baby You're Scary
12. The Passangers
13. The Days
14. The State I'm In
15. Dare
16. Die Mauer Is No More

Available May 2015. Mailorder copies of the CD are delivered in a special FBN slipcase. Signed Names postcard with mailorder copies of the vinyl set.

Available via Factory Benelux Mailorder.

The Names - Stranger Than You [FBN 119]
The Names - Stranger Than You [FBN 119]